Under Pressure

Teachers work under a great deal of pressure. I read with interest Anthony Cody’s blog post on the topic linked here.

I feel this pressure. I feel tired.  I do not know how to NOT feel this way.

Workload, scheduling, the number of students, mandates, training, testing.  The sources of pressure can turn into a long list.  I have to give myself permission to not work sometimes.

I have often said that teaching is a lifestyle.  The quality of the lifestyle is up to the individual but can be improved with support from others.   Cody offers some suggestions to create a supportive culture in schools to help deal with the pressure. Some of his suggestions seem silly to me (a high school teacher), but I imagine some of my colleagues would appreciate a variety of support.

I need to improve my lifestyle… on so many levels!  Is it possible in my current environment?

Leave a Reply

